mtbr member
    Sep 2017

Bonking ... not feelin' well Suspension Stiff on Low Rebound. How to make smoother?

Hi there. I am a beginner Rider and actually went up my first Mountain yesterday. Been riding for about 2 years now but I started out with an old Raleigh with 24' and 40mm of travel. Now I have the Giant ATX 2 (2017) which is a starter for sure. My SRSuntour XCT Suspension (100mm of Travel) is acting very stiff and i need some help with making it smooth. Any Ideas? Thank you

Land of the 230+
    I think the XCT is a coil fork, without any rebound damping. The knob on the top is "preload" which has a small bit of control over the spring rate. But its possible there may be an oil damped version like the XCR.

Anyway, like most suntour forks, there is not oil in teh fork lowers. The stanchions are lubed with grease. Eventually this grease disappears and or hardens, and youre left with horrible stiction. If its worth your time, you could disassemble the fork and grease up the stanchions. Expect to have to keep doing this from time to time. When you finally get tired of the maintenace, go out and buy a real fork. If you look around you can find decent options for as cheap as 200 bucks. IMO, Its hands down the single best upgrade you can possible make on a bike.

mtbr member
    Sep 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by GuitsBoy View Post
    I think the XCT is a coil fork, without any rebound damping. The knob on the top is "preload" which has a small bit of control over the spring rate. But its possible there may be an oil damped version like the XCR.