Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Summer Hardtail Project ( component help)

3K views 37 replies 15 participants last post by  trailadvent 
#1 ·
So i'm in the process of building a new bike for this summer, i've never built a bike before, but i'd love to build one. Ive ridden my spec. hardrock pro for a little over a year now, lots of hard riding, was a good entry level bike but im in need of an upgrade. So im still looking for some components, there is so much out there, so many reviews. i need some opinions.

im 6'0 and 220ish with helmet/pads, so im defiantly looking for some strong components ( broke the stem and handle bar on the hardrock on 2 occasions lol)

my budget is about $2k overall

Frame : see my thread here for some frames ive been looking at, but in a short run down: ns bikes surge, transition transam/vagrant, sc chameleon, on one 456.

Fork: probably going with a fox float or marz 55 ( probably a 2007/8 model)

Wheelset: no idea here, input wanted ( strong please lol)

Tires: This really comes down to what im riding in: Lots of trails, wet, roots, medium rocks, mud, river beds.

Breaks : avid juicys, hayes, im not sure still researching these, i know i want some larger rotors compared to whats on the hardrock.

Headset: probably Chris King, unless there is something that comes close in quality for less $$

Stem: Raceface Diablous

Grips: Oury Grips

Handle bars: I want a riser, lots to choose from here, easton, raceface, something nice and strong.

Crankset/drivetrain: Im debating going singlespeed, or at most 1x9. I rarely switch gears and i love to stand up and pound down some power. Defiantly going to need a bash guard. Are chain tensioners worth it?

Pedals: i dont think im ready for going clips yet.

Now i know i have to be missing some components, so feel free to chime in and let me know what im missing something or suggest parts!

Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·