mtbr member
    Nov 2013

Suggestions for first All Mountain Bike

Hello all, I'm new to the forums and somewhat new to mountain biking. I've rode a couple of trails locally, but nothing to serious. I'm looking for a new entry level all mountain bike for Christmas as I currently have a 10 year old Raleigh M80 Mountain Bike. Ideally, I'm looking for a full suspension 29er that is under $1,000 dollars. As I said, I'm fairly new to All Mountain biking so I'm not looking to spend a whole lot of money on my first all mountain bike. I'm looking for a bike that can climb great and descend well also.

I've been looking into some bikes, and I found a couple that interest me. If anyone has owned or knows any info on the bikes, could you give me a thumbs up or thumbs down on them?

Santa Cruz Heckler
    Santa Cruz Bicycles Heckler
    On MTBR, the santa cruz heckler is listed as $1,000. Although its on the expensive side of my budget, it looks like a nice bike.

Mongoose Teocali Comp
    Mongoose | Teocali Comp Mountain Bike with Freedrive Suntour Suspension and SRAM X5 components
    I'm not really sure about Mongoose, all I know is that they have some cheap low end bikes at Walmart. Would this be a good buy, on MTBR it's listed as $900.

Mongoose Salvo Elite or Salvo Comp
    http://www.mongoose.com/usa/salvo-elite-19598
    The mongoose website has the Elite at $974 and the comp at $750 or so. Good deal?

Diamondback Recoil 29er
    Diamondback Recoil XC Full Suspension Reviews - Mtbr.com
    I know this bike is listed as an XC Full Suspension, but could I get away with using it as an All-Mountain bike? The price is great at only $500-$600.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions!!

mtbr member
    Jun 2007