doofus.

SS Wheel advice - freewheel?

I'm going SS and taking pounds off my bike in the process and have been reading threads about wheel construction for AM use, but haven't noticed anyone using a freewheel hub in lieu of a cassette? (pardon the terminology errors if there are any, I'm just learning all of this stuff)

I had in mind putting together a wheelset using Transition Revolution 32s with DMR Revolver Disc Hubs and a White ENO Green Trials Freewheel, as I figured this combination would provide the most bang for the buck and balance of strength and weight. I'm aware that I'd be limited to 18t on the rear.

Obviously the Revolution 32s are well represented here, but is there something I should know about the Revolvers or using a freewheel that I'm not reading that would make them unacceptable? They seem to offer the most symmetrical spoke angles (which is better, correct?) and are fairly lightweight.

I'm coming from 2004 Sun Ditch Witch rims on entry level Shimano hubs, 8 speed cassette.
    - keith

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by eimkeith
    I'm going SS and taking pounds off my bike in the process and have been reading threads about wheel construction for AM use, but haven't noticed anyone using a freewheel hub in lieu of a cassette? (pardon the terminology errors if there are any, I'm just learning all of this stuff)

I had in mind putting together a wheelset using Transition Revolution 32s with DMR Revolver Disc Hubs and a White ENO Green Trials Freewheel, as I figured this combination would provide the most bang for the buck and balance of strength and weight. I'm aware that I'd be limited to 18t on the rear.

Obviously the Revolution 32s are well represented here, but is there something I should know about the Revolvers or using a freewheel that I'm not reading that would make them unacceptable? They seem to offer the most symmetrical spoke angles (which is better, correct?) and are fairly lightweight.