Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Square edge hits and suspension design.

I have mainly ridden VPP and far designs.
    Can someone share more light fore into this?
    Some people say DWlink is less prone to the negative effect of square edge hits, hanging and pull.
    How are the other designs perform in this area?

mtbr member
    May 2011
    My old IH Sunday (DW Link) was pretty compliant with square hits likes curbs and stairs while urban riding. Didn't really buck or rattle me when it happened, but it also liked to soak up anything I could get a little air off of.

Current Transition Dirtbag (Single Pivot/Faux-bar) is a lot more harsh with square hits, but pops off of kickers and soaks up big landings a lot smoother and more progressively than the Sunday did.

As to how they both compare to VPP, Maestro, 4 bar, or anything else, I have no experience to give you.

mtbr member
    In terms of DW vs VPP, I don't really notice all that much difference between the two in overall square-edge absorption. They feel a tiny bit different, but perform very similarly. The bigger difference lies in the bikes themselves, not just the brand of linkage. A Nomad will probably have a much cushier feel to it over square edges than a Blur, even though they are both VPP. Same with DW. A DW-Link on a Giant Trance is VASTLY different in geometry and feel than a DW-Link on a Turner DHR because each installation of VPP and DW are tailored to fit the purpose of each bike.

The more techy answer: