Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Evlkneevljr

Single chainring up front?

Was thinking about running a single chaingring upfront for my do it all bike (Intense Uzzi VPX). Recently, I was forced into running a single 36T up front when my granny ring sheared all bolts (this was a first). It forced me to run the single and I only had to walk a few steep sections. Had to stand on a few sections to mash up the hill (which I never usually do).

Have any of you gone to a single chainring up front? Do you just get stronger and adjust to it?
    I like bacon.

mtbr member
    I started riding with a single 32t chainring after a year hiatus...
    It wasn't all that tough! Of course you don't have the granny...but I think that helped with getting fit. Right now I'm in the verge of going up to a 34t ring!

I guess it all comes down to what terrain you ride on...It's not that steep were I live, so I can get away with riding a 32 to 34 (for my fitness level) ring...

I think you should go with a 34t.

Oh, and it also helps if you ride a 10 speed geared bike! The steps are much closer...and takes a lot less effort than a 9 speed!
    My Bike: http://forums.mtbr.com/showpost.php?...3&postcount=49

On-One Whippet 650b XC machine

I do what I want
    Yeah I ride single ring exclusively and yes you get stronger. I started with a 32t and within a few short months was up to a 38t and no hiking, I pedal everything.

I highly recommend it, although dont wuss out and get one of the stupid E13 XCX guides, do yourself a favor and man up for a real chainguide like an MRP Mini G2 SL or S4, heck even a Lopes would be good, otherwise your just doing it wrong.
    Guy.Ford

I'm not really an @sshole, I just act like one online.

Evlkneevljr