mtbr member
    Mar 2009

Should I buy this bike?

Alright here is the deal. I have been riding for a few years now and am looking to get a good highly versatile bike. My buddies at the LBS know a guy selling this bike. He is asking 1750 for it. I dont know squat about parts and components and what is quality and what isn't so i need some honest help. I am looking for something that will climb well and handle some modest downhills well. I am 6'3' and 180 lbs so I am concerned about the size of the frame, but the bike shop guys (who I trust a lot) say he is my height. I am looking for any and all thoughts. I want to buy one bike that will last for a long time. This frame is used and I assume has some minor scratches and what not on it. This is his posting online that they showed me. I will be test riding it hopefully next week or so. Any help would be appreciated.

nate

Frame size: L--
    Shifters: Shimano XT Rapid Fire triggers--
    Deraillers: Shimano XT--
    Brakes: Avid Juicy Seven Disks--
    Cranks: Shimano LX--
    Fork: Fox Float RLC 130 mm--
    Rear Shock: 5th Element Coil--
    Wheel Set: DT Swiss FR 6.1--
    Tires: WTB Mot Raptor 2.4--
    Seat: WTB Lazer--
    Stem: Salsa--
    Bars: Easton Monkey Lite Carbon--
    Seat Post: Thompson--

The Heckler is a do it all bike. This bike is used and has some scratches, the wheels have a few dings but the bike is in good condition other wise. This bike retailed at $3500. I also have a set of Mavic 717 wheels w/ XT hubs that are set up to go on this bike. If these wheels are used with lighter tires the weight of the bike will decrease significantly. This bike handles great and will add confidence to any rider. It will handle anything you point it at.

Gravity's Gone
    Sounds like an ok deal if it's in good shape. The problem with Santa Cruz is they don't use model years, so it's hard to tell how old it is. That being said, my brother has a Heckler and he loves it.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009