mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Wink Set-up / Sizing Question

HELP!!!

So, I bought a 2004 Gary Fisher Cake 2 DLX in January and ride roughly 30-40 miles of single track a week....so, I am a newbie. Anyway, when I ride my neck and shoulders feel tense and after the ride they are sore. I asked the guru at my local bike shop and he suggested I buy a new bike from him (nice guy). So, I am taking it to the forum...........

Set-up:
    I am just shy of 6' Ft tall and have a Medium frame bike (17.5 per Gary). Any suggestions? Perhaps a set-back seatpost, handlebar riser, Handle bars with a greater rise, stem with a greater degree of angle (currently 10 degrees). Any advice would be a great help! It's good karma to help a newbie down the trail!

Sincerely,

D. Sanchez

Your bike is incorrigible
    First of all, your height doesn't give enough info. We need your inseam as well.

Things to try: moving the saddle back and forth (you can move it about an inch either way);
    rotating the handlebars (you can't get much from this, but it could improve your grip position and take some stress off your arms); finally is stem length (would your guru lend you a few different length stems to play with for the weekend?).

Personally, I'm inclined to say that 17.5" is a little too small. However, if your torso is shorter, then your bike may fit fine. All it requires is fiddling with the components.

mtbr member
    I'm 6' and ride a large fisher, with a short stem. When you ride, your arms should be at 45 angle. If the bike's too long (straighter arm position), you will get neck and shoulder pain.