mtbr member
    Feb 2016

Rockshox Pike Travel Adjustment

I am working on building up a 2013 Trek Stache 8 from the frame. Currently trying to decide on suspension. I can get a 120mm Dual Air RS Revelation RCT3 or a 160mm Dual Air RS Pike RCT3 and a shock pump for about the same price. I live in Kansas and the trails around are mostly cross country but do have some descents/climbs.

I know the Pike would be extreme overkill, but given the price similarities I think it is worth considering. From the factory the stache came with a 120mm fork, so I want to stay with that travel.

So my question is: If I buy the 160mm Dual Air Pike, can I adjust the travel down to 120mm by changing out the air spring with the correct size? This my first build so I am fairly new to parts and modifications. OR would I be better off going with the 120mm revelation in the long run?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    I think the lowest a Pike goes is to 140mm through swapping out to a different size air piston....? I don't own one so someone correct me if I'm wrong. I do know that they are not internally changeable through spacers like some forks are.

Anytime. Anywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by m367j988 View Post
    I am working on building up a 2013 Trek Stache 8 from the frame. Currently trying to decide on suspension. I can get a 120mm Dual Air RS Revelation RCT3 or a 160mm Dual Air RS Pike RCT3 and a shock pump for about the same price. I live in Kansas and the trails around are mostly cross country but do have some descents/climbs.

I know the Pike would be extreme overkill, but given the price similarities I think it is worth considering. From the factory the stache came with a 120mm fork, so I want to stay with that travel.