mtbr member
    Aug 2015

Recommend me a trail/enduro bike ($4000 budget)

Im fairly new to mountain biking (two years) coming from the roadie side. My current MB is a very nice Giant Anthem Advanced SX XC bike. I love the bike but purchased it with a roadie mentality where weight was a top priority. While the bikes capability far exceeds my skills, I feel like some extra travel would benefit me on some of the more technical rides. I'm leaning toward another Giant bike simply cause I can get nearly 30% off any 2018 bike. Right now looking at the 2018 Trance Advanced 1 with 140/150 travel. The bike MSRP's at $5000 but I can purchase it for $4200 OTD. What other bikes in this price range do you recommend?
    BTW I'm 5'6" and weight 158lbs.
    Thanks!

mtbr member
    Dec 2014
    You're not gona beat that. Yes you could spend less money and get a really fun/great bike, but the Trance 1 is decked out and a great value. On a further positive note, it will turn and change lines as well as your Anthem. If the Anthem is older than 2015 you will notice the Trance changes lines better AND remains composed over the rough.
    oops I wasn't clipped in

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by jim c View Post
    You're not gona beat that. Yes you could spend less money and get a really fun/great bike, but the Trance 1 is decked out and a great value. On a further positive note, it will turn and change lines as well as your Anthem. If the Anthem is older than 2015 you will notice the Trance changes lines better AND remains composed over the rough.

My Anthem Advanced SX is 2016.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Also take a look at the Reign. Might be more than you need but worth comparing with the Trance.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012