Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Proper bracking on steep hills

I've been biking for almost 3 years now and consider myself AM / XC. There are a lot of east coast-type technical trails around by me with a lot of loose rocks and roots and steep slopes.

I've been told different things, but how much do you guys use your front brakes on these kind of descents? I find that when I brake on the front tire, it tends to skip around and deflect off course. The rear brake / tire doesn't have enough grip to slow the bike and usually starts skidding and sliding.

Would you guys care on giving me some pointers on braking for this type of downhill terrain? Thanks in advance for the info

Get Down Do you
    Braking is power is split this way 70% from front 30% from rear. Learn to use both and control your braking without locking either. A locked Tire gives no control. Think of trying to Mimic ABS for your bike. And if you have to lock or if you do lock, let up on the brake a little, a rolling tire is where you will have the most control.
    Progression is fine just remember to respect your roots.

[SIZE="3"] Click to see my Orange Ano Blur LT[/SIZE]

achiever
    The vast majority of your braking power is from your front brake. That said, the harder you're on the fronts, the less traction you have available for traction while turning. So, use both brakes but put less pressure on the rear to prevent a skid and if your downhill involves a corner, get as much speed scrubbed before initiating the turn as possible, let off the front brake a bit and continue giving steady pressure to the rear and you'll be fine.

Another thing to remember is to loosen your grip on the bars and let the suspension do it's job without negative input from you. If you've got a death grip on the bars and brakes, you'll be bouncing off course all the time.

A good book to read is Mastering Mountain Bike Skills by Brian Lopes and Lee McCormack.

Red

mtbr member
    Aug 2005