mtbr member
    Oct 2006

Pending separation... 1st Gen. Nomad...

So I have been riding my 1st Gen Nomad since 2007 and am planning to part ways this next season. She's treated me well, but you know how it goes, you get the itch...

I live in northern CT, where we have a lot of techy, tight singletrack with short steep climbs, and fun technical downhills. I don't do many drops, with the largest being in the 4 - 5 ft range (rarely).

While I love my Nomad, I am looking to get back to something with a little quicker steering, that has a snappier feel to it.

I've been looking at the Pivot Mach 5.7 and the SC Blur LT2. I'd put a longer fork on either of these bikes (150 on the Pivot and maybe even 160 on the Blur) to get the BB height up off the ground a little more. Not considering carbon because I fall a fair amount on log rides and in technical trail sections.

Thoughts/opinions regarding the 5.7 or the Blur LT? Any other bikes I should consider? My Nomad is a little over 32lbs - it would be nice to find something at or a little below the 30lb mark. I'm planning to probably spend between $4 - $5k.

Thanks

usually cranky
    steeper? dont hear that often. with the current trend in geo i think that will be harder to find. i think you have two solid choices though.

mtbr member
    Yeah, the LT2 is pretty sexy. If you don't use all the beef that the Nomad has to offer, you'd probably be quite happy with one. Now that Dave Weagle is designing Pivot's suspension for them, they might be performing better than their earlier products. But it's hard for me to get over the hotness of SC.
    tangaroo: What electrolytes do chicken and turkey have again?
    rck18: All of them, because they're meat.

Beer Swilling Clyde