Thread: Opinion please?

mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Opinion please?

Hi I'm kind of a newbie here, and to mountain biking, but I love it. I chose to write a research paper on it for my engineering class. More specifically, I'm going to design the ideal mountain bike for people less that 5 and a half feet tall. I some resources and opinions on what components make up the ideal mountain bike. So, what components do you think make the best bike? Meaning hard tail, brakes, tires, lightweight frames, etc. Links to other sites that could give me some info are also much appreciated thanks!

mtbr member
    Giant Reign 0 2013 frame, all with XX1 components and X0 brakes, Maxxis Minion DHR 26", Rockshox Pike RCT3 150mm and Monarch Plus RC3 on the rear, Rockshox Reverb dropper seatpost, that's pretty much my dream bike, and it would come just under 30 lbs, hope this helps
    Hit it first, then we can see where to put the landing.

mtbr member
    ill take a carbon Santa Cruz Nomad with XTR components, Fox Talas 36 160mm fork, High Roller 2 2.35 tires, Easton carbon bars, Thomson stem, Reverb dropper post, and DT wheels
    2010 GT Avalanche Expert

Elitest thrill junkie
    Little tiny ones, like 140mm disc brakes, 165mm cranks, 480mm handlebars, 1.8" tires, 24" wheels.

Ok, 5 and a half feet tall is fairly average and nothing special is needed. Not sure what your design criteria is, lots of bikes are already like this, even 29ers work fine for that height.

Now, if you're talking less than 5 feet tall, then we might have some necessary differences.
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth

You're turning black metallic.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012