mtbr member
    Oct 2013

New MTB rider needs help with rear shock

Hello everyone

I am new to MTB riding and I just recently purchased a beginner nishiki full suspension bike. For the money it is a great bike I took the bike to a bike shop and they were surprise by the level of components on the bike. So far I clocked about 20 miles. It handles well on the roads and trails. The disc brakes stop on a dime and the quick fire shimano gears get you where you need to be. The only thing that sucks, is the rear shock. No lock out features. So Guys I am look for a decent rear shock with a lock out feature. Not looking to spend a fortune ($<200).
    New MTB rider needs help with rear shock-img_9667.jpg

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Manitou Radium Expert Air Shock

Need to figure out the shock eye to eye length and stroke of the shock. Do you know the model of this frame?

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    OK. I will have to measure tomorrow. the frame is a 20in with 26.5 tires.

Elitest thrill junkie
    Having good adjustable compression damping is far more important than a lockout IME. Lockouts are for riding on the road and next to useless on the trail. Propedal type levers that significantly increase compression damping (whilst still allowing the shock to move under big impacts) are a bit more useful, but still not as much as having good adjustable compression as one might find on a Fox vanilla RC4, Cane Creek DB, x-fusion Vector, Bos Stoy, Push MX-tune DHX, Avalanche AVA tune DHX, or air shocks like a fox RP2/RP3/RP23/CTD/etc tuned by Push, Cane Creek DBA, x-fusion vector air and bos void. With the shocks mentioned, you can tune to have good firm low-speed compression support, negating the need for switching a lever all the time, and still have great sharp-edged bump performance that just gets better the faster you go through rough stuff.