mtbr member
    Sep 2018

New guy here, need advice on first bike

Hey there, I'm new to mountain biking and I was looking for a good first bike around $3000 Canadian. After talking to a bunch of sellers I got a couple of models that fit my needs and I would like to know which one you guys recommend.

• Devinci Troy alluminium
    • Specialized Comp stumpjumper
    • Trek remedy 7
    • Norco fluid FS1+
    • Kona Process 153 SE.

Some are pricier than others which balances my decision. Not so sure about which ones are the best... I'm looking for an all mountain bike that works for a first timer haha. Looking forward to readind you. Right now the Specialized and the Kona seem pretty awesome.

Thank you very much

mtbr member
    Sep 2018
    Just realized this isn't the place for beginners haha, I don't know how to erase the post either :/

bike pamper-er
    Trek is years behind on the geometry of the remedy. The Kona wouldn't be bad if you don't mind a low stack. If it were me, I'd go with the Troy. Bomber frame, progressive DW split pivot suspension, rockshox fork with 35mm stanchions, and modern geometry.
    Shorter seat tubes, taller droppers.
    Shorter chainstays, taller stacks.
    Shorter stems, taller BB's.

mtbr member

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Kinda curious why, as a new guy, you are looking exclusively at 150mm travel bikes, well except the Norco.

You could save some money probably by lowering your sights to more trail-oriented bikes with 120-140mm travel.

Also, I suspect you wouldn't be able to tell much difference between the Norco FS1 and the FS2 or FS3, even.

mbtr member
    Quote Originally Posted by TwiceHorn View Post
    Kinda curious why, as a new guy, you are looking exclusively at 150mm travel bikes, well except the Norco.

You could save some money probably by lowering your sights to more trail-oriented bikes with 120-140mm travel.