mtbr member
    Sep 2011

New chain - new cassette - and new tools?? ad infinitum???

Hey guys

I am a sad noob with low end stuff. Please don't tell my to just go buy Saint stuff

Just to set the scene, I do most of my tough going on the fire trails in Lane Cove Park. Mostly dusty, sandy and small rocks. Buggers keep pouring cement on the good downhills. Often, even after a week of leaving off after heavy rain, there is some isolated wet/muddy stuff to spray through. Overall, gritty, nasty stuff for chain drives.

PART 1 Do you need a new cassette with a new chain?
    Original gear: KMC Z-51. 1/2"x 3/16" 116 links
    Got myself a new chain (Shimano Hyperglide CN-HG70) and after doing a couple of very short test rides noticed that it seemed to be 'missing' when I put a bit of power on, eg on an uphill. Was a bit dark, so I couldn't work out exactly where the 'clang'/slip was coming from, though I suspect the rear end. There are serious hills where I am, and I couldn't ride the bike as it is now. It would be call the ambalance

I've been reading some stuff and it seems that some/most people suggest changing the rear cassette with a new chain. Others say that's rubbish and just give it a couple of rides for them to get 'used' to each other. The cassette I have is a SRAM PG730 12-32T 7speed. Rear derailleur has always shifted perfectly, though I haven't adjusted it since the new chain was installed.

Thoughts?

PART 2 Options and tools
    Researching into some new cassettes, seems like I'm pretty limited with a 7 speed. Who'd a thunk it? I'm basically limited to:
    * SRAM PG730 12-32T
    *Shimano HG50 have several Ts 12-21T OR 12-28T, 13-30T or 13-34T. Damn, that's short! 12-28 or 13-30 probably best.
    *Shimano HG30 11-28T $
    *Shimano CS-HG41 11-28T.
    Personally I'd prefer a longer gear than the current 12T as I run out of puff at about 40-odd km/h.