Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2014

New bike next year

So I'm new to the mtb world, currently have a 14` norco storm 9.1 and loving it immensely.

Researching now for a hopeful new bike purchase around march/April next year once I have a couple of things paid off which would allow for new certegy app on a new bike

The area I ride is alot of climbing. Alot of single track. Rocks, roots and twisties, also hardpack. Has most of everything as well as firetrails connecting everything and as you can imagine on the entry level hard tail I'm having the bejesus flogged out of me. (still loving it)

Wanting to stick with the norco range, I've got in my sights: The Range and Sight (see what I did there)

The Norco Range A7.1 or Sight A7.1

The bike shop who I plan on buying it from had said the Range is going to be alot heavier and a bit more of a pig but able to take anything I throw at it. Where as the Sight is super capable all rounder.

They have a 2014 Sight in stock at $1000 off retail down form 3600aud to 2500aud. But looking at 14-15 the 15 seems to have a few more features for the rrp, dropper post etc. Where as the range had the Pike fork which from what I've researched is awesome.

Im able to afford up to the 3500 mark, although if I can find something similar for less money I won't complain.

I'm a newbie but wanting to buy something that will last me a few years of good fun. And I've gotta have all the facts so I can figure out a strategy to convince the missus a need a bike that costs more than my first car...

Thanks very much in advance, very open to other suggestions of other bikes. The bike shop who I plan on buying from do norco, lapierre and merida.

Im a short guy as well at around 165cm and 73kg and I live in Australia.

mtbr member
    Both are great bikes, and you've already got a good sense of the tradeoffs between the two.