Thread: Need an xc bike

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Need an xc bike

Guys,

I have been riding mostly DH the last 5-7 years and my trail bike is an 08 Giant Reign X. My girlfriend and her dad are crazy good athletes and amazing climbers and I need something light, preferably in the 25-27lb range in order to keep up with them on the local mellow trails here in Southern California. Maximum of 5" of travel but I think I can get away with less.

Any thoughts on a good xc bike that is light but will still handle okay going down hill? Would like to spend $3,000 or less.

Australia = phun
    Sep 2010
    Specialized Camber?

skaterqwertyuiop
    haha, with your budget you could get any bike you want. Sorry, the most I've spent on my XC bike is like $500. My AM/FR bike is a whole nutha story. I have no experience with crazy high end XC bikes.
    It's not about what bike you ride, but how hard you tear it up

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Bullit21 View Post
    Guys,

I have been riding mostly DH the last 5-7 years and my trail bike is an 08 Giant Reign X. My girlfriend and her dad are crazy good athletes and amazing climbers and I need something light, preferably in the 25-27lb range in order to keep up with them on the local mellow trails here in Southern California. Maximum of 5" of travel but I think I can get away with less.

Any thoughts on a good xc bike that is light but will still handle okay going down hill? Would like to spend $3,000 or less.
    Dude, buy my bike on ebay! If you don't keep up with them on this, you won't keep up with them It's a hardtail though...PM me if you're interested. 2011 Trek Superfly Elite 19inch.

But if you're looking full suspension XC'ish bike, a Fuel EX might be good for you. I just got one myself and it's a sick bike. 5 inch travel, solid, but light and speedy enough to keep up with my XC buddies.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    For Socal I think a light 29er hardtail would fit the bill.