Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Need some advice

I've been biking for a few years now, but not consistently. I don't know a whole lot about bikes either. I have a Trek 4300 Alpha 2002 I think. Lately I've been doing more and I want an upgrade, but I don't have a ton of money. I know I want something with discs and a better fork. I got a max of about $700, what's the best all around bike for the price? Would it be better to upgrade some components on mine? Thanks

Picture Unrelated
    Quote Originally Posted by plumleej View Post
    I've been biking for a few years now, but not consistently. I don't know a whole lot about bikes either. I have a Trek 4300 Alpha 2002 I think. Lately I've been doing more and I want an upgrade, but I don't have a ton of money. I know I want something with discs and a better fork. I got a max of about $700, what's the best all around bike for the price? Would it be better to upgrade some components on mine? Thanks
    I can't see it being worth putting money into your 4300. How often did you change the chain? How much did you take care of it? How does the suspension feel? How about saddle, grips, pedals, reach... How does it feel when you ride it? Is there anything you would change about it? You can't throw money at an entry level bike and expect it to start performing like a race bike, unfortunately it doesn't work that way. Certainly if the bike is dialed for you then it will be worth putting some money into, but with a 9 year old bike I don't think you're going to get much value that way.