mtbr member
    Dec 2013

New question here. Need Advice on 1st bike purchase

Hi all, new to mountain biking and am looking to buy a rig.

I've been biking for about 2 years now, going with friends once every 3 or 4 months on borrowed bikes. Been saving to get a bike for a while now.

I've got $2k to spend and here's what I'm looking at so far.

I'm 5'11", 195 lbs (looking to lose a little weight by riding hehehe).

1) 2011 Trek Remedy 9 (Craigslist purchase)
    2011 Trek Remedy 9
    2) 2013 Salsa Horse-thief 2
    Salsa Horsethief 2 - Big Kahuna Bicycles - Littleton CO

Any advice or suggestions on what I should get?

Thanks in advance,

Travis.

Fat-tired Roadie
    I'm fond of used bikes for stretching a buck. The size is in the right ballpark for you. I rode a Remedy the other day and liked it. That was probably a '14 model.

Do a price-check and make sure you're not getting fleeced. bikepedia.com often has original MSRPs.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Assuming the Salsa is $1,600 plus tax and the Trek is $2k, I think the Trek is a better deal. Both are aluminum frames, so less worry about hidden carbon damage from wrecks. I like the specs on the Trek better too. Might have some issues when it comes time to replace that rear shock, but you should be able to get spacers and put a standard shock on relatively easy.

Only concern is warranty. The Trek will not have any warranty, so you're on your own onit. I don't know anything about the vendor of the Salsa, and that may be a non-issue.

mtbr member
    If you're partial to the trek try and talk the guy down to $1600. Also check pink bike buy/sell. I've never owned a 29er but always thought those salsa looked cool and fun. I'd see what reviews say on those bikes and the stock fork.

The salsa is new and you'll have leftover budget for the crucial dropper post. Used is used my gut tells me that guy is asking too much given everything else on the market.