Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Narrowed down to 3 beginner bikes...help!

2K views 16 replies 17 participants last post by  gap_rider 
#1 ·
I'm a 30 year old newbie, and have narrowed my choices down to 3 bikes for my first bike.
Opinions on each bike are welcomed, adn please tell me if you had to buy one of these bikes what would it be and why. I plan on riding mostly prepared trails in the woods with some occasional rough stuff. Wont be riding daily, but mostly on weekends or days off.

Bike 1

2009 Haro Shift R1

Frame: Shift 6061 4.5” travel hydroformed aluminum frame with sealed bearing pivot
Fork: SR Suntour XCR 120mm w/ lockout and preload
Shock: X-Fusion Coil w/adjustable rebound
Crankset & BB: Truvativ X-Flow 3.0 24/34/42
Front Derailleur: Shimano Alivio
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Alivio
Bar/Stem: Ritchey Riser / Kalloy Pivit stem
Shifter: Shimano EZ Fire 8-speed intergrated lever
Saddle/Seatpost: WTB Speed V Sport saddle / Haro Alloy post
Hubset: Formula Pivit hubset
Front/Rear Rims: Ritchey Girder XC
Front/Rear Tires: Kenda Komodo 2.1
Front/Rear Brakes: Tektro IO mechanical disc

Bike 2

2009 Mongoose Otero Elite
Tires: 26x2.1 Kenda Komodo black skinwall
Wheelset: Alex TD24 disc specific double wall rims with Formula Disc Alloy QR 32 hole hubs
Bottom Bracket: FSA cartridged
Crankset: FSA Dyna-Drive alloy 42/32/22T
Frame: Heat treated 6000 series alloy with QR adjustable travel 2.5-4.4” (62-112mm) and replaceable hanger
Chain: KMC Z-72
Pedals: Mongoose alloy platform
Handlebar: Mongoose alloy riser 31.8x25x635mm (size small) 685 (size M/L)
Stem: Mongoose alloy riser 31.8x90mm (S/M) 110mm (L)
Seatpost: Mongoose alloy with micro adjust clamp
Grips/Tape: Mongoose dual density
Levers: ProMax alloy hydraulic
Brakes: ProMax hydraulic disc with 160mm rotors
Headset: Ritchey Logic Zero for 1 1/8”
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Alivio M410
Shifters: Shimano Alivio M410 Rapidfire 24 speed
Front Derailleur: Shimano Altus M311
Cassette: Shimano HG30 11-32T, 8 speed