Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: mtn bike grease

ninja

mtn bike grease

I am relatively new to bike maintenance and was wondering if you guys could recommend a type or types of grease for every thing. like bottom bracket, general purpose, chain and a good place to buy it from would be great to.

mtbr member
    Jan 2010
    erm..I think Park Tools has chainlube and grease for everything. There are likely dozens of other vendors for lube and grease just so you know. As for where to get em, your LBS or my go-to place...Amazon.com.

~Disc~Golf~
    My recs...
    Grease - Molybdenum (Moly) Grease - big tub
    Oil - Bar/chain (saw) oil - Gallon
    Spray (for derailleurs, stanchions etc) - Silicone spray (~20oz.)

Where to get - any hardware/home builders supply store.

Buying any "bike specific" stuff is just silly/stupid - unless you like wasting $$
    Honestly... ahh I give up

mtbr member
    Don't put grease on your chain, it just picks up crap and wears the chain even faster.

Buy a bottle of specific chain lube for your chain/gears. For everything else except forks a decent teflon grease works fine, apply sparingly.

I've always used Finish line Dry chain lube :http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/M...px?ModelID=317

and grease http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/M...px?ModelID=980

I use those because my LBS carries it, they use it and it's always worked fine for me.
    You can get them or something similar from all decent bike shops, just go in and ask for a decent grease and a bottle of chain lube. Or get it off a website.

#Edit, or take Highdell's suggestion and get a gallon of it for the price a bike shop will charge you for 3oz.

mtbr member
    the ease of use of prolink makes it worth every penny to me.

im sticking with my big tub of marine grease for everything else though.

ninja
    thx guys

mtbr member
    I love the Tri-Flow red grease.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    Phil Wood waterproof grease is the best!
    2013 Transition TransAM 29er