Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Wrench

Mountain Biking on the Cheap: Let's See Them.

First off, I just have to get something out there...

I've got a lot of hobbies, and each hobby has its fair share of elitists. Creative writing? Oh yeah, some people really hate being told that their writing style blows. Competitive shooting/guns in general? Don't get me started on Glock vs 1911 vs 9mm vs .45 vs AR vs AK vs M1A vs FNFAL vs IPSC vs IDPA and on and on and on. Hell, coin collecting even. If it aint mint it's not worth it...

But out of all of them, the one that has come off the most elitist and abrasive is Mountain Biking. I've had some HORRIBLE experiences in bike shops from the 20-something-bearded-white-guy-wearing-khaki-capris crowd. A little sample...

Before I switched frames and built up my bike, I was riding and doing lots of mountain biking with a $200 Schwinn Ridge Al I purchased from Academy. I felt like trying to upgrade the bike a bit, so I asked about getting discs on my bike at a local shop. One guy was actually trying to help (sorta..) when from in the back comes this guy...

He had been working on a bike previously. He decided to put down his tools, come to the front, interrupt the guy I was with, and tell me that my bike is a POS, not worth it, that I am just a simple "campus cruiser", and that it would be a complete waste of money to put something like that on my "cheap ass bike"

I informed him that he was being elitist and that he wont sell anything with that kind of attitude. He started stammering and stumbling over apologies when I said that I mountain biked on the same trails as him.

Needless to say, that soured me away from that particular shop. But hey, this is a college town, so there are at least five of these shops around.

Each. And. Every. One. has its elitist snobbery attached. It's been pretty dissappointing. It seems like I'm not worth anyone's time, since my bike is cheap.