mtbr member
    Sep 2009

Hope making a 27 speed into a 9 speed? Can I do it?

Yo! Hey ya'll. I'm new to mountain biking and a little on the large side (235 lbs.) I was wondering; for the kind of riding I like i.e. hills, twists and turns, I never get out of low gear on the front. can I keep my 9speed rear cassette, and get rid of the other two gears on the front? The larger ones for higher speed? Is there some sort of kit involved?

Seeeriously easy Livin
    You never ride out of your smallest cog in the front? There are chainguides you can run for a single ring up front, but I don't know anyone that would want to run smaller than a 32 tooth ring only up front.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009

ok

ok, now the 32 will usually the middle cog right? The 1 to 1 cog.

Rabid Lana fan
    What are you trying to accomplish by removing the other two chain wheels? Weight Savings? Why not just never shift the front up? Same result, although a tad more weight on the bike.

And, if you ever find that the 22 tooth chain wheel just isn't "enough" anymore, you have the option to upshift! As you ride more and more, and your legs start to get stronger, this might become a real option.

And yes, 32 tooth niddle ring is the most common size for the middle ring on three ring setups.
    rOCktoberfest 2015 pt I here
    rOCktoberfest 2015 pt II here

...idios...
    The illustrious 1x9 thread holds many answers....

What use is a philosopher who doesn't hurt anybody's feelings? -
    Diogenes

Rabid Lana fan
    One other thing to consider. Even though you may have 27 different combinations, you don't have truly 27 gear ratios. There is some overlap.

When you are on the front small ring, once you get past the third or fourth rear cog, the ratios start to overlap with the ones you get when on the middle front ring and the fith or sixth rear cog. It repeats again for the biggest ring in the front.