Thread: K2 Attack 1.0

mtbr member
    May 2010

K2 Attack 1.0

So I just bought this bike today. May have paid too much, but I'm a tall guy and have been looking for a full-suspension bike that fits me for a while with no luck.

I'd like to know what some of you would upgrade on this bike as it looks completely stock and a bit worn.

I'd like to start with sprockets, DR, and rims/tires. I probably will be doing more paved 'trail' riding with the family than anything, but will get out occasionally on some good mountain trails.

I am very new to this sport and have limited knowledge of components, brands, quality etc. I love working on bikes and am not scared to tackle technical changes.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Okay, so I invested in new shifters (SRAM 5.0), new xtr cables and wires, new xt rim set, new riser, handle bars and grips.
    Bike rides great but I will probably be looking for a shock within the next couple of months.

mtbr member
    What fork is on your bike now? If it's still the stock fork, I'd look at replacing the fork with a lighter, better performing model.
    How much did you pay for your Attack?
    Good luck.

tough guy
    what year is it? pics?

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Here is a pic. As for year, I think it's a 2005, but I'm not sure.

When I bought it, the hubs were garbage, handlebars were bent, and cables were super stiff. I think he was a 'hoser' who didn't know any better. Everything is smooth now and it actually rides nicely. I am in the market for some shocks so anyone looking to sell, let me know.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails K2 Attack 1.0-k2-attack-.jpg  

tough guy