mtbr member
    Jan 2018

Just starting out

Hello everyone,

I am just starting out in this sport. I want to get a little more involved, but wanna to get my skills and stuff down first. I riding with a Trek 3500, which ive read a lot of mixed reviews on it. I am a 250 lbs guy who's 5'8. So I like its build....But here is my question...

Where do I start learning more about this sport? I want to do Down hill, and maybe just tuff singletrack stuff.

Can I build up my Trek 3500. The one thing I like about this is MTB are very buildable. But will it be worth my money...Eventually I will to do comps. I know weight is everything...but a guy with kids cant afford to drop 1k or more on a carbon frame.

I appreciate any help and answers!

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    I'd say keep riding the 3500 as long as it works for you. As you get more fit and develop, you'll have a better idea of what you need for the sort of riding you want to do.
    Perhaps start saving your money, as at your size (I am big too) you're going to be hard on a bike, and that $1000+ bike might be in order at some point down the line.
    Youtube is full of great riding videos to start to learn. GMBN, Skills with Phil are two of my favorites. Seth's Bike Hacks, Singletrack Sampler are good too.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by medicdemoore View Post
    Hello everyone,

I am just starting out in this sport. I want to get a little more involved, but wanna to get my skills and stuff down first. I riding with a Trek 3500, which ive read a lot of mixed reviews on it. I am a 250 lbs guy who's 5'8. So I like its build....But here is my question...

Where do I start learning more about this sport? I want to do Down hill, and maybe just tuff singletrack stuff.

Can I build up my Trek 3500. The one thing I like about this is MTB are very buildable. But will it be worth my money...