mtbr member
    Oct 2014

Impressions on this 2005 Specialized Enduro Comp?

I'm in the market for a all mountain FS bike. I'm new to suspension, ride my bike daily, but don't have a large budget (family, time constraints, etc). I'm about 5"8" and 210 lbs. I realize the xl frame may be too large but I do have fairly long arms, at least I find that with shirts.

I'd love to get your thoughts on this bike for this price:

specialized enduro 2005 with upgrade

specialized enduro frame size xl
    mavic rims , with new kenda nevegal tire
    deore xt rear lx front derailleur 3x8
    marzocchi am3 130mm fork
    fox rear shock
    enduro bar with funn stem
    avid bb7 with alligator disk rotor 160mm
    new cables new chain new grips
    lx front shifter deore rear shifter
    need new chain and derailleur adjustment, since i change the cable was never use
    price 400

Impressions on this 2005 Specialized Enduro Comp?-img955526.jpgImpressions on this 2005 Specialized Enduro Comp?-img956618.jpg

Thanks for your input.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    XL is way way way too big for you. And if you're new to FS, that bike would probably be too much for the XC, path, and light trail riding you're likely in for. The geometry and suspension setup on that are likely geared toward aggressive downhill.
    2012 Specialized Camber Comp
    2014 Kona Taro

mtbr member
    Oct 2014
    Thanks for the comments. I had googled around for sizing info on this year/make/model of bike and ran into a few folks that thought the sizing was on the small size (... I'm 6'3" 200lbs. I bought the Large size. I test rode it around the lot and it seemed fine to me when I rode it, but when I got it back, it seemed a little small. I mean even when I got my rockhopper I thought it was a little large (21") but i kinda "grew into it."...).