mtbr member
    Nov 2017

Im a beginner. Don't have much experience. Need some help deciding.

Basically where i live we don't have any trails fabricated specially for bikes . I usually ride some dirt roads , forest paths , river sides, also some couple of abandoned quarries. So i need a cheap bike that can take a beating and be decent at everything i trow at it. I don't care whether its a full susp or a hardtail (but i lean towards the second since is gonna be cheaper probably). New or old doesn't matter to me too. Weight is a bit of a concern, but if its not too heavy i don't care. Right now i ride a specialized p2 street, the cheap suntour fork sucks. Idk if its worth upgrading cause it just feels like a XC bike with wide handle bars and a short stem.

mtbr member

There's a lot of unknowns that will help get you better responses:

Budget?
    Type of riding? I.e. Are you looking to be fast in your riding or more into adventuring/casual lower speed stuff. Are you riding long distances?

My 2 cents, I'd get a hardtail for sure, probably used so you can get more for your $$. If you don't have designated singletrack by you then you most likely don't need full sus. I'd consider a 27+ bike (demo one if you can). The extra cushion would be nice for riding quarries and such, but would be fine for paved/gravel if you don't care as much about being super fast. I actually love/prefer my fatbike for most riding. I often take it out to gravel pits or wilderness areas and it works great for adventuring untamed terrain. At the same time I'll commute 10 miles to work on paved trails without a care (it's certainly not fast or as efficient as a gravel bike but I don't care about speed on paved trails). If you don't need the cushion of a mtb tire you might consider a more cross/touring type bike like a Jamis renegade or similar. This would be much better on paved and still has the grit to wander off-road.

mtbr member
    Nov 2017