Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

i dont know if im all am or xc...

i know that sounds dumb but idk. the trails i take do have some rocky sections. some parts are fairly steap. i saw some xc races on youtube that look flat and boring as hell. i ride in the boise foot hills mostly if that helps. they are usually loops that take a long up hill ride and a decent downhill. i know this is a total noobie question

mtbr member
    You clearly are not extreme enough and do not drink enough mountain dew to be AM... But real talk; does it really matter? Are you trying to decide what type of bike to get? If so, just ride what you feel more comfortable on. Same goes for components. If you are just having an identity crisis, call yourself a "trail" rider, or better yet just say you mountain bike.

If all of the above fails, I would say that you are more of a xc rider. It sounds like you are describing blue run vs a black run a la mountain bike park/ski hill ratings.

Off the back...
    Quote Originally Posted by ExCactus View Post
    just say you mountain bike
    This.

Radical Rookie
    Hi nailtrail,

I am currently on an xc bike but I join the boys in singletrack rides and sometimes attempt more technical trails where the low bb of an xc bike will pose a hindrance. Xc bikes are good for roads and trails but are a pain at tech or harsher courses. Maybe my skills are bad but that is how I feel about xc bikes. The geometry can be a tad nervous and steep sometimes.

If u like the long gradual trails even though it comes with some climbs and nice downs, you are more a xc rider. if u enjoy the tech part of a trail and weight weeny-ing is not your top priority, go for an am or trail geometry bike. It helps u tackle the occasional steep downs and tech course better.

Pardon me if I am off topic

Picture Unrelated