mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Hucks and Drops; How big?

I'm pretty new to this discipline of MTBing(been mainly xc since I started), and I was wondering how big of a drop(not jump) is big for you guys and how big is too big. Like I said, I'm pretty new at hucking and dropping, only been seriosly working on it for lees thank 2 weeks, and a 3 footer is getting kinda big for me. I was also wondering how long it took you guys to get decent going bigger than 3 feet?

Thanks, any input is greatly appriciated

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    It kinda depends on the take off and landing zones for me. I'm not too good so anymore 3' flat to flat is about my skill level too. Anything more than that and I'm relying too much on the suspension and not enough on actual skill . I had more ballz back when I was in HS and I'd do 5's on a rigid bike (usually with a downward sloping landing though). I think the less you think about it the better, the skill set doesn't change much as the drops get bigger. It's all about body control, muscle memory, and practice.

Wzl
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    I personally don't like going too big but it really does depend on the take off and landing. I ride with a couple of very huck-savy riders and I have learned a great deal from them. I have two issues that I am dealing with.

1. I like to be able to see the landing zone before I take off. This means that I prefer take off's that have slightly downhill slopes to them. If I can't see where I am going then I get nervous and yank the bike in all the wrong directions. See next point.