mtbr member

How to Make Sure a Bike is Legit and Other Noob Questions

Hi guys 1st post. I started riding last year on an old Schwinn LeTour III that my roommate gave me after he graduated. I put over 2000 miles on it last season and after only a few rides this season she died. Busted spokes, damaged rear hub..... ended up falling over on a dismount due to the spokes and that damaged the handle bars. LBS wanted close to $400 to repair everything RIP.

I enjoy riding fairly long distances for a casual, ~30mi per day as my city has lots of old railroad that they paved over into a network of trails. I have made the decision to get a nice used Mountain or XC bike; the reason being that even though the trails are paved over the pavement is broken by tree roots in places along the trail and most of my local roads look like a war has taken place on them.

I have been scouring CList to find a decent used Stumpjumper, FSR XC, or Carve type ride. I have also been looking at Bikepedia, a Blue Book site, and the Specialized archives looking at pics and trying to soak up as much info as quickly as possible. Ever since I have found out that counterfeit frames exist, I have been afraid that I will get ripped off. I have 2 specific examples, if you guys could help me out I would appreciate it.

The first is the welding of the top tube and the down tube to the head tube, in this case on a 2010 Specialized FSR XC Comp look at the official site picture:

And then the same model being offered in an ad: