mtbr member
    Jun 2013

How do you adjust the brake lever on Shimano XT bakres?

Hi,

I have a bike with shimano XT brakes. The front brake lever is quite sensitive -- it requires only a tiny bit of motion before the brakes are fully engaged, and thus has a small full range of motion. The rear brake lever requires more motion before the brakes are fully engaged, and thus has a greater range of motion.

How do I equalize the range of motion between the front and rear -- what exactly do I need to adjust?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, i'm new to disc brakes.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    There is a dial in front of brake lever you turn, clockwise lessens range, counter clockwise increases it.

mtbr member
    You are talking about adjusting when the pads contact the rotor, right? Not the reach of the lever?

If you are asking about pad contact, depending on what year your brakes are, there should be a little screw on the master cylinder that says free stroke underneath it. That is Shimano's adjustment for that. You can try playing with it, but I find that it does next to nothing. Good think that the new XT brakes are amazing and that adjustment isn't needed.
    2013 Medium Santa Cruz Blur Trc in Matte/Silver, full XT kit, 1x10 with 32T wolftooth ring, 25 pounds 7 ounces

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    Do you adjust A or B in the pic below? These seem to be the only easily accessible brake adjustments, what do they each do?

Thanks.

How do you adjust the brake lever on Shimano XT bakres?-shim2.jpg

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    A is lever reach. B is the rubber cover over the compression fitting. Not an adjuster. Plus there is a pad contact screw which doesn't seem to be very effective. That screw is just above the pivot in the photo.

mtbr member