Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Help me decide... low component Pivot Mach 5.7 or Stumpjumper FSR Elite

I am not looking for the philosophical discussion what's better, more of what would you in my spot? I am finally making the switch to FS after riding HT for entire life. I currently own a 29 HT (100mm fork) but I started riding more technical trails for longer hours and I rather have a little more comfort. I dont do shuttle downhill rides or don't plan to do any serious DH. I ride mostly in AZ, where most trails are rocky and full of gravel (no mud). I am looking for a 26 inch since I will most likely end up keeping my 29HT.

I read tons of these stump vs pivot threads, and it sounds like people generally lean toward pivot. I actually had a chance to ride both and since I didn't never really rode FS bikes before, it was hard for me tell a real difference between the two. I was just happy to be able to finally ride over some rocks without taking the punishment.

So here are two of my final choices, both for around 3K:

2012 stumpjumper FSR ELITE

FRAMEM5 hydroformed tubing, tapered HT, PF30 BB, ISCG 05, Command Post routing, 142mm dropouts, sealed cartridge bearing pivots, replaceable derailleur hanger, 140mm travel
    REAR SHOCKFox/Specialized remote Brain with AUTOSAG, inertia valve w/Trail Tune, BrainFade adjust, 197x51mm
    FORKFox Evolution 140 TALAS RL, air spring, tapered alloy steerer, LO and reb adj., standard drop-outs, 140/120mm travel
    HEADSET1-1/8 and 1-1/2" Threadless, Campy style upper with 1-1/2" lower, cartridge bearings
    STEMSpecialized XC, 3D forged alloy, 4-bolt, 31.8mm clamp, adjustable rise, S: 60mm, M: 75, L:90, XL:105mm
    HANDLEBARSSpecialized All-Mountain low-rise bar, 7050 alloy, 720mm wide, 8 backsweep, 6 upsweep, 31.8mm
    GRIPSSpecialized lock-on, S/M: Grappler, Others: Grappler XL
    FRONT BRAKECustom Avid Elixir 7 SL, hydraulic disc, alloy backed semi-metallic pad, HS-1 rotor S/M:180mm, Others: 200mm