mtbr member
    Feb 2006

Help with drops and jumps

Hi everyone, I can't seem to keep my feet planted on the pedals when I do drops and jumps or anything that involves air. I was doing more XC and was riding with clipless so I never really had that problem but since I started on flat pedals, my feet kept lifting off the pedals when I take small jumps and drops etc and it's freggin' scary. I'm new to the discipline of AM but very interested. Would appreciate any tips. THKS!

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    I find pushing down on the pedals whilst lifting up on the bars help keep you planted. As well, spikey pedals and grippy shoes help. I think the coordination of the jumping effort helps in addition to staying relaxed. Start out with jumps you're comfy with. Drops I find are easier in that you can with enough speed just drop off with a slight pull of the bars and shifting your butt over the back wheel. Go small first. Hope this helps you out because I'm learning as well. And I've wiped out lots in the process. Oh yeah, pads and a camel back are a must while you learn. Have fun.

mtbr member
    Point your toes down a little bit and 'scoop' the pedal back and up with the bottom of your foot when you jump. Keeps your shoes against the pedal pins.

Oh yes, good pedals and sticky shoes (5.10 Impacts) help a lot too.
    Tarekith.com

'12 RM Slayer70, i9 Torch, Flow EX, XT Brakes, 5050 s3.

Freeriding Feline
    5. 10 Impacts are amazing shoes.
    "If you give up your dream, you die."
    Twitter - KIKat1029

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Juicy
    Hi everyone, I can't seem to keep my feet planted on the pedals when I do drops and jumps or anything that involves air.
    See here:
    http://www.leelikesbikes.com/drops-s...at-pedals.html
    Last edited by djska; 08-07-2006 at 10:59 PM.

Out Of Control
    510s, specialized low pro pedals, and push them feet into the pedals.

mtbr member
    link fixed

mtbr member
    Jul 2006