Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Hardtail or full suspension? New rider

Hi guys Superblackbird2000 here,

I'm fairly new to riding. Picked up a Jamis Nova Race Cyclocross for the road, and a Jamis Exile Sport for the trails. The Exile has what appears to be a questionable front fork, and a hard tail. It was only $525 and I'm guessing you get what you pay for. I'm considering upgrading to a full suspension mountain bike. The local shop has a decent Scott for around $2,400 which gives you the ability to lock out various components on the fly. For $1,400 they have another one that let's you do it manually, not on the fly. Any advice for a new rider? I'm just doing trails on conservation area. The Exile is fine, however if I did pull the trigger, what might be a good way to go?

Any and all help and or advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Hi,

You're opening up a can of worms here! People have very different views on this topic.
    For what it's worth, here are my thoughts:

1) Where do you ride (what's the terrain like)
    If you ride mostly smooth trails with no big rocks, roots etc - a hardtail with a decent fork is great. If your trails are rough or you plan to ride further afield where they are - full suspension is a good idea provided you can afford decent full suspension.

2) What are your goals? If you want to build up to throwing yourself off jumps and drops or ride gnarly trails - you'll be faster sooner on a dual sus.

3) If you want to learn good technique - get a hard tail.

4) What will excite you - give you the ride that makes you smile? Get that

mtbr member
    for FS bikes, the Heckler is the Honda Civic of bikes. its tried and true, simple and reliable, and a good bang for the buck. you cant go wrong

Santa Cruz Bicycles Heckler
    2010 GT Avalanche Expert

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    Gravityfreaky is 100% Correct.