Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Good AM Crank??

mtbr member

Good AM Crank??

Looking to upgrade the crank on my mission 2. Price is not really an issue what do you guys recommend? Is the Hammerschmidt really that great?

Beer Swilling Clyde
    The race face sixc, carbon cranks were up on chainlove today selling for $360, about half off retail. Race face did go belly up recently though so after sale support is a big question mark as of right now. If price isn't an issue, the new xtr trail 2 x 10 cranks look promising too.

mtbr member
    yea i was checkin out the xtr set. I noticed they have it in a 2x10 and a 3x10. What do most people run with an AM setup? Pros cons either way? Im a total noob when it comes to this stuff.

mtbr member
    There are a lot of good options old and new. SLX, Gravity light, Hammerschmidt,XT. Truthfully you can run almost any kind of crank in AM and be fine. I have pretty much only run Shimano cranks, you can't go wrong with SLX, XT, and XTR.

Beer Swilling Clyde

Beer Swilling Clyde
    Quote Originally Posted by ExCactus
    What is the current crankset you are upgrading over? Are there issues with that crankset that you are trying to address or you just want something shiney and new? And if you're a total noob do you need to be spending $300+ on a crankset?

Hey, if he's got the cash to burn, why not, spend away. These are the guys who let poor people like me buy high end parts with two months use for half off retail.

To OP, the difference between 2x and 3x is just the # of chainrings. An AM build typically has 2 rings, but it's really just personal preference, some run a bash with it some not. If you live in an area with lots of climbing followed with downhills you will probably rarely use the big ring so 2 is money. If your typical terrain is mostly flat you may like having that 3rd ring once you get up to speed.

mtbr member