Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Nov 2010

To get dropper post... Or to get new brakes?

So I am going on a trip out west in a couple weeks for a month. I'll be hitting all the major spots (fruits, moab, etc). I have a heckler and have upgraded a few things in the past couple weeks (dbair shock, tubeless and new tires, icetech 180's front and rear). I have some spare cash to either get a new set of shimano xt brakes. My current brakes are juicy 3's which I am not too pleased with. Or I can get a dropper post like the reverb or a ks. Which route do you think I should go for the trip. I will end up with both eventually, but being a college student I can only afford one prior to the trip.

mtbr member
    Dropper is a luxury. I don't feel the same way about brakes.
    Time wounds all heels...

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Yea i hear you on that. But its gotta be pretty nice being able to keep your flow instead of getting off the bike to lower the seat.

Are the xt brakes my best option to pair with my icetech rotors. My budget is under 300$ for brakes front and rear. Is there a better option for that price tag?

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    dropper post! you already have brakeset, as long as they work fine.

mtbr member
    I hear the SLX brakes are extremely similar and function just as well.
    Poke around for some sales and you might have enough left over to get
    much closer to having a new dropper as well!
    Time wounds all heels...

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    The dropper posts are $$$. Are there any that are closer to 200$ that are still good.

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    What do you not like about your current brakes, and what kind of terrain do you plan on riding on this trip? I'm waiting for dropper posts to get cheaper and more reliable. I don't regret upgrading to XT brakes for a minute.
    Justin
    Salt Lake City
    2012 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29
    2006 Specialized Allez Expert Double

mtbr member
    Nov 2010