mtbr member
    Sep 2012

GD Turbo LP vs KS Supernatural 27.2

I know there are tons of info and threads on droppers, but I am still confused on what to get.

I have narrowed it down to two that I am considering. I have an older bike with a 27.2mm seatpost tube. The tube is really short, so the longest I can get is 350mm. I am stuck with very slim pickings.

These are two completely different droppers, I believe. So, I am wondering which is better to get? Mechanical or hydraulic and set adjustments or infinite? If GD is the way to go, do you recommend 1" down or 2" down for the middle position?

I have never used a dropper, before. So, all input will be helpful.

I'm with stupid
    Im interested in this thread as well since I need a 27.2 post for my 29er hardtail

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    btt for both of us.

mtbr member
    GD every time.

Aside from the reliability, it's as close to no maintenance as a dropper can get and GD will direct sell you any spare part in the future should you need it, even down to individual bolts.

KS are ok when it comes to spares, but also slow, it can be a case of getting your post fixed eventually if you have a problem with it. I've sold a few people GDs and Reverbs because they got bored waiting for KS to fix their post.

I like the simple up/down positions on droppers (I have a GD Turbo), can't help on the best multi position.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Just curious, I have just read up good things about the new KS Supernaturals and that the reliability is pretty good and people seem to like the infinite adjustments more than preset. Plus, I've seen the Supernatural for a little under $250 with free shipping. So, I am starting to kind of lean towards KS. What's your experience as far as what you have seen regarding the reliability of the 2013 KS Supernaturals? Also, how much turn around time have you seen with KS? I don't mind switching back to my regular seat post if need be, since I've been using it for so long.