mtbr member

Frame size control question

I just started riding singletrack and really enjoy it, however I am a 60 yr old newbie tiding a GF HT 29 er. The bike is a 21 inch frame and I have the 1 to 2 inch standover so the bike is very comfortable and great on the rail trails, fire roads and general riding.

On singletrack runs, it seems almost impossible to get good lift on the front tire when trying to hop over obstacles and I have noticed that almost all of the mountain rides have a minimum of 12 inches of seatpost ( smaller frame ) compared to my 3 or 4.

I am thinking I should consider a smaller framed bike, FS or a HT if I am serious about spending more time on the singletrack trails ?

Butts Up Fast!
    Try a shorter stem. Nothing DH short but you will be amazed at what a 20mm shorter stem can do for you.

mtbr member
    29ers are taller bikes which is going to make the front harder to lift. The question may be easier to answer if we new how tall you are? If your riding a 21" 29er I hope your 6'3 or taller.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Drth Vadr View Post
    29ers are taller bikes which is going to make the front harder to lift. The question may be easier to answer if we new how tall you are? If your riding a 21" 29er I hope your 6'3 or taller.
    You are close my friend, I am 6-1 1/2 inches. I did test ride a 19 & 21 inch frame in a parking lot and the larger frame, which is what I bought, was a whole lot more comfortable. Difficult to explain but is was a no brainer.

Maybe too big for single tracking ??

that guy
    Jun 2011
    Shorter stem, lighter forks, lighter wheelset... each would help.

Also, what are the widths of your shoulders and bars?

You also need to know that 29ers are slightly more difficult to lift and hop.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011