mtbr member
    Aug 2005

Fox RP23 to DHX Air 5.0

After riding my RP23 for a few weeks now I'm curious what I'd lose and gain going to an DHX Air 5.0. I ride a mix of everything from up and down singletrack to jumps and drops where I'm blowing through all my travel.

I'm not a suspension expert co I'm curious what are the pluses and negatives of swapping the shocks? Has anyone else down this?

Thanks.
    2013 Transition TransAM 29er
    2012 Banshee Spitfire V1.5
    2011 Yeti 303R DH
    2005 Trek Bruiser SS

usually cranky
    imo going from a rp23 to a dhx a5 is a downgrade. the dhx air is a good shock, but it is so hard to set up and i dont think it really gives you anything over a rp23. if you really feel the need send it to push.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    What kinds of difference will I feel after it goes to Push? I'm really concerned about the durability of the RP23.
    2013 Transition TransAM 29er
    2012 Banshee Spitfire V1.5
    2011 Yeti 303R DH
    2005 Trek Bruiser SS

Crash Test Dummy
    I disagree that it's a downgrade. Having ridden a RP23 on my Felt Redemption and then switching to a DHX 5.0 I'm speaking from experience. Yes the DHX 5.0 is a little harder to dial in but once you get it you'll never look back. The DHX 5.0 is more responsive which helps keep the rear tire in contact with the ground giving you better traction and the bottom out resistance keep it from, well, bottoming out.

mtbr member