mtbr member

Flume Trail vs. Mr. Toad's Wild Ride

Okay, so I would say I'm a beginner/intermediate rider who only got serious this spring. I've been riding things out here near NYC: Blue Mountain, Graham Hill, Beth Page, Stillwell Woods. I handle myself okay, provided I go at my own pace. When I'm trying to keep up with faster, more experienced buddies, like last weekend, I'll do my fair share of endos on steep technical descents.

The long and short of this post: I'm going to Lake Tahoe later this month. And I'll have time for one ride. I'm wondering whether I should rent a bike and hit the Flume Trail or Mr. Toad's Wild Ride. I've been reading about the latter, and it sounds juicy. But will I be overmatched?

Anyone every ride these trails?

BTW, I'm posting here, b/c the All Mountain forum feels like my home, and you all are my homies...
    Last edited by madgeronimo; 08-09-2006 at 06:24 AM.

29 some of the time...
    Flume is a must see for the views, but it is not technical at all. Toads is technical and I have not heard a single person come back complaining about it. If it were my choice I would do Toads

mtbr member

Even for someone at my level--beginner/intermediate?

Quote Originally Posted by dscot420
    Flume is a must see for the views, but it is not technical at all. Toads is technical and I have not heard a single person come back complaining about it. If it were my choice I would do Toads
    Even for someone at my level--beginner/intermediate?