Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2008

Flat Pedal Recommendations (after 10+ years of clipless)

I've been riding XC for about 15 years and pretty much always clipped in. But I'm now getting into more AM trails and jumps that have recently been added to my area.

I'm guessing it makes sense to switch to flats? I tried my cheap plastic flats today and some things felt surprisingly good - technical climbs, bike control. My jumps sucked and were small and sketchy but I started to get a better feel for keeping my feet on the pedals as the ride went on.

Anyway, what are some flats I should start with? Also are specific MTB shoes very helpful too, or are typical athletic shoes fine to start?

mtbr member
    Dec 2006

Bikesexual

aka bOb
    I just made the switch to flats last summer for park riding and winter riding and really digging it but..... I still am struggling to find the right pedals. I started off with Raceface Atlas which I really liked the grip (almost too much) but I couldn't get used to the bearing bump next to the crank arm, always seemed like my foot was up on it. Then I tried a set of Raceface Aeffects that I had on my fat bike and altho the grip was ok they seemed a little small. Next I went to a set of DMR Vaults, size seemed perfect but I don't care for the pins. They use a allen screw instead of a pin which doesn't seem to mate as well to my 5 10s but they do a great job with my winter boots. Once winter is over I am going to take the screws out of the DMR's and replace them with the pins from my Raceface pedals and I'm hoping that will fit my needs.

Sorry no real help here but just thought I would share my experiences.

mtbr member
    Pedaling Innovations Catalyst

Found a pedal for life. These things are awesome and do just what the company says they'll do.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011