mtbr member

first build from scratch: on one 456 evo II

this is my first build from scratch, I had an old iron horse that had seen better days and was a budget bike from the start so I decided to build one instead of buy one. it was a pretty fun process from start to finish, hunting down parts and putting everything together. I took it out for its first ride today and omg what a beast. this bike brought my riding to a whole new level. weight is 31lb, cost was right around 2g. quick run down is evo 456 II frame, rockshox sector 150mm, azonic outlaw wheels, zee shifter and derailleur set up 1x10 with race face crank and narrow wide 30t up front. it climbs great, rides great and feels much lighter than it actually is. it wants to pull the front end on steep climbs which im attributing to the fork and the shifter could be a hair quicker/smoother. tires are heavy but they did everything I asked them to and were very predictable. overall, im super pleased with how everything turned out. sorry for the so so pics, lighting was awful tough today

first build from scratch: on one 456 evo II-evo13.jpgfirst build from scratch: on one 456 evo II-evo8.jpgfirst build from scratch: on one 456 evo II-evo1.jpg

mtbr member
    sweet!
    2010 GT Avalanche Expert

Master of the Universe!
    Apr 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by obs08 View Post