mtbr member

New question here. ENDURO / TRAIL Compromises

I am a college student living in new england, and I have been riding my whole life. I want to start racing enduro next summer. I ride mostly trail with a decent amount of techy climbs. I do a few bike park days a year as I live close to highland. With this being said I have a 2014 Lapierre zesty 327 that I have build up over the past few years. I also have a Niner ros9 27.5+ for more trail / xc stuff. The Lapierre has suited me my riding style well and climbs alright, but it's had a few years of hard riding and I want something lighter. Im weighing options for my next bike and I definately want 27.5 because of the amount of technical climbing. I also want 150mm of travel. I am more inclined to boutique companies like transition or yeti, but not opposed to companies like specialized as they present a solid value. Im around 5000 for a budget. Open to all suggestions!!

ENDURO / TRAIL Compromises-bike.jpg

mtbr member
    I would suggest checking out Intense, with their new direct-to-consumer pricing, and Canyon, perhaps their new '18 Spectral.
    Do the math.

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    I'll say that the Transition Patrol climbed far better than I expected.
    Riding Washington State singletrack since 1986

Gimme free stuff
    Guerrilla Gravity BAMF
    Smash

mtbr member
    Have you ridden a scout by chance?

I fix choppers
    The new Evil Insurgent will be out shortly and slots in right around $5K +/- with a GX Eagle kit. It's shred-ability will blow your mind. Nothing rides like it.

"Everything popular is wrong." -Oscar Wilde

mtbr member
    Oct 2015
    Since you plan on racing does this mean you want a plastic bike for lower weight? Will you be racing mostly local, East Coast? If so keep the wheel base in check, the twisty rock trails don't favor a really long low bike.

Carbon patrol and Knolly warden If you want plastic. If aluminum look at the Canfield Balance as well.

mtbr member