Thread: DH or AM Bike?

mtbr member

DH or AM Bike?

So...I'm new to MTB, bought a used XC and like it. I want to get good at DH but truth is I ride alot of XC and that is probably not going to change. Upgrading my current bike to handle drops and other obstacles is a waste of $$ so I am getting a new bike. I thought of an AM bike (likely my best choice) but thought "would it be funner to have a DH bike?". I know I should go demo some for myself and likely will. But what do ya'll think? Would a DH bike with 200mm front be rediculous to ride local XC? (Las Vegas). Would it really be to hard to ride on the flats & ups? This is a stupid question I am sure...but hey, I'm a noob and that's what noobs do, right? I have modified my XC bike somewhat to better handle the obstacles I can currently handle but really want something that can help me get to a higher level.

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    I was in a similar position as you and ordered an Enduro. I tested out some DH bikes at the bike park, while awesome, I don't think it would be much fun to ride a 200mm bike with any portion of uphill. I felt an AM bike would still be fun for both XC and DH, so thats what I did.

mtbr member
    you dont want a DH bike unless youre shuttling or riding at a resort.
    what obstacles are you currently handling?
    kill it at the poker tables and get a carbon covert.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Get a solidly built 6-7in am/FR bike. Get one that can handle a 2x setup. If you can get a travel adjust fork, do it (it's a pain to climb with 180mm when it gets steep and techy).

Rune v2, enduro, covert, maybe t250 (not sure if they take a front deraileur) would be good options, and there are plenty more, and theres already a thread on the DH forum about this.

Oh, and its only a matter of time before someone mentions THE ONE as the best single bike that has ever been invented.