Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Definition of "All Mountain"

What types of riding does all mountain cover? How is it different from cross country? I'm just new to this trying to sort things out.

Knomer
    It's a marketing term for an activity called "mountain biking". As far as I can tell, mountain bikes were originally designed to 'go anywhere', which seems to be the key principle for all-mountain riding. The average mountain bike that is designed to 'go anywhere' usually weighs around 30 pounds, and this rule of thumb has applied in 1992, 2002, and now in 2012. You just get much more technology packed into those 30 pounds these days.

The name of this market segment may change over time, but the activity will always be general mountain biking.
    Global Director of Sales: Knolly Bikes

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    <---- Don't feed them

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    AM is where you put flats on an xc bike and whine about climbing but brag about how high you can jump

mtbr member
    Suspension Travel:
    4inchs = xc
    5inchs = trail
    6inchs = am
    7inchs = mini dh/ Freeride
    8+inchs = DH

brandisher of chainsaws
    Quote Originally Posted by Combatcm View Post
    AM is where you put flats on an xc bike and whine about climbing but brag about how high you can jump
    Thanks for pigeonholing me dude!

Swedetarded
    Quote Originally Posted by Dusty Bottoms View Post

The name of this market segment may change over time, but the activity will always be general mountain biking.
    Thank you.

BLAH BLAH
    Mar 2008
    Please Noooooo...
    Whats this line for?

Swimming thru the Smog
    Apr 2011
    This seems like a troll post.

but

an AM bike is burly enough for jumps, drops, bike park, DH, etc, but is still able to be pedaled uphill rather decent.

Bandit 29 FTW!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyHuynh View Post
    Suspension Travel:
    4inchs = xc
    5inchs = trail
    6inchs = am