Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    eBiker

Crash Techniques - Need Your Tips

I need some tips on crashing head first.

A broken arm (in the wrist area) and a ruptured tendon (again, wrist area - other arm) on separate crashes, 8 months between injuries, and I need to find some new hit-the-ground technique.

Background:
    I grew up BMXing in the 70s, and learned to tuck and roll, which I still do today. This technique has saved much bacon over the years, but (and here is the AM part) I am not going XC nor DJ speeds. I also wear elbow and knee armor.

My current technique:
    If possible, I get off the bike (in control) before things blow up. If I go down head first, my hands are in front to set up the tuck-and-roll. I don't use my hands to stop the fall, just to start the energy absorbtion and disappation into the shoulder roll.

Clearly my technique is not working for my wrists.

Anyone got any tips?

Mr. P

TJT
    mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    I am no expert, but...

Try not putting your hands forwards, but down instead. My hands seem to automatically go into almost a push-up position. You should still be able to control your fall to go nicely into the tuck.

Good question... I'm interested to see what others say.

over 50 years of cycling
    you need to get wrist braces to add to your armour.
    E.g. the 661
    http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...+Wrap+Pro.aspx

There is another brand that is a similar design too. Note this is the one item that you need in a pair that they sell as "each" so you need two of them, so they are a bit pricey.

You can improvise wrist braces too, buying a generic wrist support, but these work better than most. I was getting a lot of wrist damage on my weak wrists before using these.

Tuck and roll is good.

Best thing is to take some martial arts training in a form that teaches you how to fall....AND kick arse.... Two birds with one stone.
    Something like Akido etc.
    Live in the moment.
    YMMV

squish is good