Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Crank Brothers Candy Pedals...

Ok, I have a quesiton... I have never used Crank Bros pedals before but am thinking about switching to them to replace my venerable Onza H.O. convertible since they are no longer made and impossible to get parts for. Gonna go with the Candy I think. I like a pedal that has somewhat of a platform to them. I ride clipped in 95% of the time and not looking for a full platform but just something to give a stable place to put my foot when clipped out on real tricky parts. My question is, in looking at the many pics of the Candy pedals, I cant see how these can be described as have any platform at all since the clips stick up so far past the plastic platform, how would your shoe be touching this at all? Am I missing something?

mtbr member
    No. I ride these pedals and would never be comfortable riding them unclipped. Way too slippery.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    Anyone else? What about the Acid pedals?

mtbr member
    The "platform" on the Candy's are meant to add a little bit of stability for more aggressive riding, but ARE NOT meant to be ridden unclipped. The Candy is basically just an "Egg Beater" with a little added support on the ball of the foot. If you want a TRUE platform and cleat/clip combo, try the Mallets (by Crank Bros.). But they are heavy. I've never ridden the Acids, but from what I've heard, they're just like the Candy's but with a longer platform for greater fore/aft support.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004