mtbr member
    Mar 2006

Are clutch derailleurs breaking more hangers?

I've been riding for 25 years and in that time broken only a few hangers. However, on two different bikes I have broken 3 in the last 6 months since switching to Shimano clutch type derailleurs.

It has me wondering whether the force once absorbed by the swinging derailleur isn't now being transferred to the hanger causing failure. Seems the only reason I can think of as not once were these failures caused by striking a rock or anything else with the derailleur.

Thoughts / similar experiences?

some know me as mongo
    Feb 2008
    seems like that could happen. that being said my der hanger on my nomad carbon (pretty wimpy looking) is still straight and going strong after about 3-4 months of riding with my Sram XO type2 der.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    sure you've got your chain length right ? and that the clutch mech is working properly. There shouldn't be any where near enough force from the clutch to break a derailleur hanger .

Custom Wheelbuilder
    Quote Originally Posted by MrFish View Post
    sure you've got your chain length right ? and that the clutch mech is working properly. There shouldn't be any where near enough force from the clutch to break a derailleur hanger .
    This.

If the clutch is misadjusted, I could see it putting excessive stress on the derailleur hanger.
    I would go in an do a clutch overhaul (which sounds daunting, but is actually quite easy).
    Check out www.zencyclery.com for fully customizable, handbuilt wheels.

www.facebook.com/zencyclerywheels

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by gravityfreaky View Post
    It has me wondering whether the force once absorbed by the swinging derailleur isn't now being transferred to the hanger causing failure. Seems the only reason I can think of as not once were these failures caused by striking a rock or anything else with the derailleur