mtbr member
    Feb 2011

Clipless platform pedals

I've been riding SPD's for 20 years, and don't like the idea of not having that solid connection to my bike. However, I get into technical situations that would be sweet to have platforms and BMX shoes. Is there anything fundamentally wrong with my idea of say a 510 SPD shoe with maybe a Time ATAC platform or CrankBros platform pedal? Won't that give me the best of both worlds? Or will it just give me average of both worlds?

El CicloPath!!!!!!!
    Nov 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by bicyclebillpdx View Post
    I've been riding SPD's for 20 years, and don't like the idea of not having that solid connection to my bike. However, I get into technical situations that would be sweet to have platforms and BMX shoes. Is there anything fundamentally wrong with my idea of say a 510 SPD shoe with maybe a Time ATAC platform or CrankBros platform pedal? Won't that give me the best of both worlds? Or will it just give me average of both worlds?
    I've been using the DX pedals.....no issues.

Cat Herder
    I've run the Crank Bros Mallets on-and-off, and they drift into that average of both worlds area. The clip-in works just about the same as the egg beater crank brothers, which I rode for years, except you could say the body of the pedal does cause some impedance to clipping in, but very little.

However, they are not a particularly good flat pedal, due to the bulge in the center of the pedal due to the egg beater. They are good for situations where you don't want to clip in, but they have the funny knack of accidentally clipping in sometimes.

That said, I'll probably continue to swap them in for XC terrain at times.
    It's never too late to re-invent the bicycle

mtbr member
    Apr 2010